Quote by J.K. Rowling

“Rock bottom became the solid foundation on which I rebuilt my life.” ~J.K. Rowling

I’ve always admired J.K. Rowling and her series. She turned to her writing in the worst time of her life and built up a magical world that influenced nations. But right now, this quote means more to me than ever before. I’ve been slacking off this past month with blog posts. I haven’t written daily on my own personal projects. I’ve done everything a writer shouldn’t do. I’ve been busy with work and more work, family reunions, and my own immediate family, over stretching myself emotionally.

Today, this quote has inspired me. This morning I wrote 250 words of my own projects, and it’s still not even 9 AM. I want to return to my old habits of 500-1000 words a day, and I will start with today. I don’t need a perfect life to build a solid foundation. In fact, the foundation will be stronger if I build it now while it’s hard.

So this is my promise to myself. I’m posting it for all to see. I’m going to write every day even if I hate it or I’m falling asleep on my keyboard. Because it’s better than not writing at all and losing myself–this past month has taught me that.

Leave a comment